Ballintotis Community Council banner
. . . . . . The Ballintotis Community Centre has now been built adjacent to the local Church. Well done to everyone involved and those who contributed in any way. Fundraising events supporting the centre's build and upkeep will continue through 2013 . . . . . . . . . .
Last Updated: 22-Jan-2013
Click Here To Advertise In This Space
Community Council
Community Alert
Crime Watch
St Coleman's Church
National School
Parent's Association
Tuesday Club
Ballintotis AFC
Picture Galleries
Daily Picture
Places of Interest
Farming matters
Guest Book
Take a Break
Teen Scene
Kids Page
Pet's Corner
Useful Contacts
Contact Us

Ballintotis A.F.C.

Ballintotis Soccer Club was formed in August 1981. The Club's first meeting was held on Mon. 31 August and the following committee was elected:

Chairman Jim Murphy (RIP), Vice Chairman, John Carr (RIP), Secretary, Michael Crowley, Treasurer, John McCarthy, Selectors: Jim Murphy, John Carr and Michael Crowley.

As the club was formed too late to enter any of the local leagues, we played a series of challenge matches that first season.

Our first match was played on 8 August 1981 against St. John Bosco at Waterrock Park, Midleton and ended in a 5-0 defeat for Ballintotis.

First Team 1981Our panel for that game was:
Declan O'Mahony, Noel Curtin, James Cosgrave, Vincent McCarthy, Kieran Williams, John McCarthy, Gerard Scully, Alan Murphy, Pat O'Mahony, Martin Donnelly, John Cashman, Mossie Crowley, Mick Crowley and Rosark Rasool.

We joined the Third Division of the Cork Athletic Union League (AUL) in August 1982 and have been playing in the AUL ever since.

Our first official game was at Flower Lodge against A.O.H. on Saturday 21 August 1982. We won 4-0 and our team was:

Willie Cotter, Alan Murphy, Declan O'Mahony, Kieran Williams, James Cosgrave, Liam Williams, Sean Carr, Kevin O'Brien, Pat O'Mahony, Kevin Curtin, Martin Donnelly. Subs: Noel Curtin and Ger Scully.

Our scorers on that occasion were:

Kevin Curtin (2), Pat O'Mahony (1), Sean Carr (1).

The club struggled to keep its head above water for several seasons but steady improvement culminated in promotion to the second division in 1997.

The team quickly adapted to life at this high level and after a couple of near misses, we clinched promotion to the first division in May 2004.

Cup Winners 05Our biggest success as a club occurred on 24 April 2005 when we won the St. Michael's Cup (First Division Cup) at Turners Cross.

In front of a large attendance we beat Mayfield 5-4 on penalties after drawing 2-2 after extra time. Our team on that night was:

Pakie O'Mahony, Paul Foley, Anthony Archer, Anthony McDonald, Donal O'Sullivan, Paul Barry, Sean Carr, Declan Ryan, Dave O'Brien, Willie O'Brien (Capt.), Diarmuid O'Sullivan.

Subs: Eoin O'Sullivan, Paudi O'Sullivan, Brian Behan, Nicky Walsh.

Scorers: Diarmuid O'Sullivan and Declan Ryan in normal time.
Our penalty scorers were: Willie O'Brien, Anthony Archer, Paudi O'Sullivan, Declan Ryan and Diarmuid O'Sullivan.

back to top

Click to Comment

RTÉ Radio 1- RTÉ 2fm
Lyric fm
- Today fm
RTÉ Radió Na Gaeltachta
Cork's 96 fm - Cork's 103 fm
Cork's Red fm - WLR fm



TV Progam Listings

Death Notices


All the Sporting Links

Area Map

Ballintotis OR Ballintotas?


See Ballintotis on
google maps

 Picture Gallery

Find our Pitch

Billy Lyons Blogspot




















E-mail us